Correction Advisory Committee MEETING MINUTES Thursday, January 11th, 2024 Immediately Following a Public Hearing at 4:00 PM in Room 2C of the LOB and Zoom and YouTube Live

The following committee members were present:

Marisol Garcia Daryl McGraw John Cipolli Ben Howell Andrew Giering Reena Kapoor Tadhg Dooley Melvin Medina Kyisha Velazquez

The following committee members were absent:

John Bowen Scott Semple

I. CONVENE MEETING

The meeting was called to order at 7:58 PM by Chair Tadhg Dooley.

## **II. REMARKS BY THE CHAIR**

Introductory remarks were made by Chair Dooley. He noted that there will be very little done in the public portion of the meeting, and they hoped to come out with a final ranking of the candidates. Chair Dooley recessed the meeting at 7:59 PM.

## **III. EXECUTIVE SESSION**

Chair Dooley reconvened the meeting at 8:02 PM. A motion was made by Ben Howell and seconded by Chair Garcia to move the committee into Executive Session at 8:02 PM.

Chair Dooley reconvened the committee out of executive session at 8:51 PM.

Chair Dooley thanked all the candidates and stated that all three finalists will be on the short list sent to the Governor. He hoped that the Governor will give some weight to the committee's decision. The committee decided on the first ranked choice being Ken Krayeske, the second ranked choice being Barbara Fair, and the third ranked choice being Hilary Carpenter.

Chair Dooley remarked that all would be qualified but highlighted Ken Krayeske's detailed application on his first-year plan. The committee hoped the finalists would continue to cooperate with each other once the role had been filled.

## IV. VOTING ON FINALISTS

A motion was made by Andrew Giering and seconded by Melvin Medina to send the Governor a ranked list of Correction Ombuds finalists. Chair Dooley asked if there was any discussion; hearing none, the motion passed on a voice vote.

## V. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Dooley once again thanked everyone for participating in both the public hearing and the committee meeting.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:55 PM.